Skip to content
David Porkka

The Shoe Flash

It should have been an ordinary bathroom experience, but everything was about to change after a flash of light blinded me from the bottom of the next stall. As I turned towards the light, a face turned towards me in the reflection of their shoe. I'd never seen such a polished, mirror-like shoe; and I never expected to have my privacy invaded by a stranger's shoe. But looking closer, I realized that he was no stranger.

He was my best friend, until now. As we exchanged glances, he grimaced with anger, feeling his privacy also invaded. His neck veins bulged through his dress shirt and his face turned red with fury. He was stronger than me, but I had been studying jujitsu for about a month. Fists were the only choice, but we first washed our hands out of respect.

Tags